Tile shower floor drain

Users who are viewing this thread

AngelM

Reaction score
Was removing grout around my shower floor to repair the grout, and found that there is about 3" of standing water under the tile. The water should be draining out of the drains weep holes, bit it doesn't appear to be draining (at least not very well...). I've been watching the water level for half a day and water level hasn't moved any...drain pipe is damp so it might be seeping out veeery slowly. I got out an endoscope and took the pic attached.

20171028200915.jpg

It appears that they put the liner over the weep holes ( the pic is inside the drain, you can see the toward the bottom the threads for the drain... and the red looks like the liner to me.) I'm not a pro, but this looks wrong. I thought the liner was supposed to be under the weep hole piece, not over it. Isn't this wrong.. haven't the basically sealed the weep holes?

Follow up question... to repair i would remove tile around drain, remove mortar, remove drain, put drain back in with liner underneath, re-mortar, re-tile. Right?

how do i remove the mortar without damaging the liner?

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
The picture is not clear at all.

Generally, any demolition work, even the tiniest job, can damage the moisture barrier regardless of kind.
I've seen jobs that eventually needed new floors.
Don't do a job that later will have to be removed.

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
There is no sure fix to a liner floor pan that is already installed. There should not be any measurable air/water space below the tile, so if you are measuring inches, the water is probably leaking through into the ground.
The fix is a new shower pan.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score