Three Sinks Back to Back proper DWV

Users who are viewing this thread

Mr.T

Reaction score
This site and its contributors continue to be some of the best resources on the web! Thank you to all.

I think this is a simple one. I have a double lav in a master bathroom that shares a wall (back-to-back) with a guest bathroom. I want to have all three sinks share the same 2" drain. I think that I have the most appropriate and simple layout for the drains drawn up. Does this look proper? Thanks!

Attachments

• 3 Sink Drain.jpg
    3 Sink Drain.jpg
    70.9 KB · Views: 223

Breplum

Licensed plumbing contractor
Reaction score
UPC would not allow that layout.
What I would recommend is vertical wet venting:
What would work, is to have the single lav come off the 2" vertical via a 2 x 1.5" tee, either above or below the double fixture fitting (not a double tee, but use what is called figure 5 or "double fixture fitting" which will have 1.5" trap arms).
The vent can be all 1.5" if you want.

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
If the right hand horizontal branch on the double fixture fitting is 2", I think the drawing would be OK under the UPC. The drain between the right hand vent and the central lav would be a wet vent for the central lav. And 2" is sufficient for 2 DFUs on the horizontal, and for a wet vent.

Under the IPC, in use in MI, I believe it's OK as drawn.

Cheers, Wayne

Mr.T

Reaction score
Thank you for the fast responses! I should have noted in the body of my post that this project is, indeed, in MI and under the IPC. Frankly, if I can set things up as breplum suggested, it may actually be a better solution. I did not think I could do it that way.