Testing water pressure w/o hose bibb

Users who are viewing this thread

Mike Magee

Reaction score
Hi Guys, I am an MEP engineer, and need to do a site visit tomorrow where I will need to test water pressure on multiple floors in a 12 story building. The goal being to determine how many of the low floors are fed by street pressure, and how many of the higher floors are served by the storage tanks on the roof.

The problem is, I do not expect hose bibbs in the restrooms, so my test locations are going to be either angle stops or aerators. And I won't be able to find out what size angle stops they have, or what brand of tamper proof aerators they have to know exactly what to bring in advance.

Any advise from folks who spend a bit more time in the field than I do on how best to make a connection? Has anyone ever tried to just put in a soft washer and hold it tight to the tap?

I am hesitant to break any connections at the angle stops since the building is 100 years old, I really don't want to be shaking around the piping, or breaking a connection that I can't put together.

Shutting off the building water for any period of time is not an option.

Thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
My comments are not based on experience.

For houses or apartments, I would think
Drain valve on water heater.
Laundry taps.

For commercial bathrooms, maybe close a stop valve, loosen the connector end, and connect to the stop valve. Does the sink in the cleaning closet have a thread on its spout?

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score