Switching to electric water heater from diesel burner

Users who are viewing this thread

Jameswiththefinca

Reaction score
Hi everyone
Came across this forum and hoping there might be some friendly help out there for me.

We have been living on a Finca in Spain for 2.5 years now and have finally had enough of the old diesel burning water heater. To give you an overview... (I’m gunna do my best to give as much info as possible but I’m no expert, but that’s why I’m here!!!)

there are 6 houses spaced over about 1.5 acres which are supplied with hot water from a central hot water heater. The water heater is a Facody GT-23 diesel burner which is rated at 32,000 kcal/h. That feeds into a 1000L (about 265 gal) insulated water tank. The heater is starting to give up and I feel it’s about time to move to a more eco-friendly option. Was thinking of installing a 200-300L (2.4kw-3kw) electrical water heater powered by solar panels and basically installing that directly into the current system so I would still supply the hot water from the central location and pump it to the surrounding houses. I understand this is not the most efficient method, however we simply can’t afford 6 individual small water heaters and six individual installs.

so my questions are: does this all make sense? Is this a practical solution? Could I get away with a smaller water heater, say 100L, to cut down on the space and power requirements? Would you guys have any other options for me?

I would really appreciate any and all input to help me get my head around this. Thanks a bunch!

Fitter30

Reaction score
32,000 kcal/h = 126986 btu's = 38480 watts =38.48 kw since electric is 100% efficient your water heater 70-80%
80% = 31kw if my math is right

Phog

Reaction score
3kW is on the small side for even just one single household, let alone 6 households combined. (Most single-household electric tank water heaters have heating elements in the 4-5kW range).