Sweating pipes - if it looks right, doesn't leak, can it still be wrong?

Users who are viewing this thread

BimmerRacer

Reaction score
Have never done this before and added two ball valves at the end of my supply lines a few days ago. Not much drama except for not having the lead-free solder on hand and being smart enough to read the label before starting. One pipe was a bit stubborn and shop vac came in handy to suck the water out of it. Oh, and leaving the valves open with my wife watching for leaks as I turned the water back on. :D She didn't find it as funny. No leaks, looks good.

Now, my brother calls me yesterday and has a leaky valve. He says since I now can sweat pipes, I should come over. So, I do and no drama there either. Also extended and capped his in-laws lines in the kitchen as they are remodeling.

So, it looks nice and pretty (I am sure not as pretty as a pro can make it), but no pig slop award material either, no leaks, but since I have never done this before, could it still be wrong and if so, how? I guess I am looking for reassurance I didn't screw things up.

Also, apparently they had a plumber set of sprinklers in the building as he was making was switching out the water heater. :eek: Not fun from what I hear, FD had to come out...it's one of those apartments with individual mechanical room off the balconies.

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
So, it looks nice and pretty (I am sure not as pretty as a pro can make it), but no pig slop award material either, no leaks, but since I have never done this before, could it still be wrong and if so, how? I guess I am looking for reassurance I didn't screw things up.

Well it sounds like you did it okay but I can't tell from here...
But no leaks is a good thing....:cool:

Now as for the Pig Slop...:D
Post a pic and we'll let you know... LOL

BimmerRacer

Reaction score
Well it sounds like you did it okay but I can't tell from here...
But no leaks is a good thing....:cool: