Sweating mystery -what did I do wrong?

Users who are viewing this thread

projectgirl

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to sweating - so please be kind.
I'm installing cutoff valves under my vanity (a job that should have been done when the house was built). After practicing the sweating technique many times, I thought I was ready to do the project.

The configuration is simple -- (1) connect a 45 degree elbow to a fitting with threads on the end. (I will then screw in a brass fitting which I can screw the cutoff valve to) (2) connect the elbow (which now has fitting attached) to the supply line in the wall.

BTW - I had water on hand when I was working in the wall and I also worked with a fireproof fabric shield behind the fitting.

My dilema is this -- I sweat the elbow to the fitting, and everything seemed to go as it should. The joint drew in about 1" of solder, and I could see a very thin bead of solder all along the outside of the joint when I was done. When it cooled, it was solid!

With confidence, I cleaned the supply pipe as well as inside of the other side of my elbow fitting, applied flux at the outside and inside of the pipe and fitting and made the connection. I applied heat for approximately 8 seconds to one side of the fitting and applied the solder to the other - no solder pulled into the joint. I then applied heat for maybe 16 seconds -- there was no question the fitting was hot. Again the solder would not flow into the joint. I then applied applied heat for another 16 seconds or so [NOTE: I had about 4" of solder rolled off of the spool and the last 1" was bent at a 45 degree angle so that I could determine if/and how much solder was drawn into the joint.