Supply and return sizing

Users who are viewing this thread

Dennis Leonard

DiverDennis
Reaction score
I am a licenced electrician and my neighbor is a licenced pipefitter and we are replacing my old Weil Mclain boiler.
Ordered new Weil Mclain CGa-4 boiler and Grundfos Alpha pump. Now I am in the process of getting the black pipe and fittings.
Existing 3 zones are 3/4" with 1" headers. The new boiler is tapped at 1 1/4" and the pump has a 1" opening.
Should we change the header to 1 1/4" or can we keep it at 1"?

Thanks,
Dennis in Dewitt, Michigan

Last edited:

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
Assuming it hasn't arrived yet (and there may be time to change it), why are you installing the CGa-4 rather than a smaller boiler? The 88,000 BTU/hr output of that boiler is way too high for about 90% of all homes in MI. Realistic heat load numbers for the average house in MI would likely come in under 50,000 BTU/hr even for older houses (pre-1975) and under 35,000 BTU/hr for many newer ones that might be coming up on boiler-replacement time. Most homes that currently have a CGa-4 installed would be better served by a CGa-25, at half the rated output.

Some ~3000' code-min new houses come in with heat loads in the mid-20,000s @ 0F. The 99% outside design temp in Lansing is +2F, so yours probably isn't sub-zero. But your load may be over 30,000 BTU. And there's a way to figure that out without performing a manual-J load calculation.

Assuming you have a heating history with the old Weil Mclain, you can use fuel use against heating degree-days to come up with the true heat load of the place using the old boiler as the measuring instrument. If it's as oversized as the CGa-4 for the likely load, it probably never delivered it's AFUE or steady state efficiency, but using the nameplate efficiency for the calculation provides adequate oversizing margin for a replacement boiler.