Suggestions for replacement of three Briggs toilets

Users who are viewing this thread

brennok

Reaction score
First off I am a total newbie when it comes to plumbing in general so if I left out anything please let me know. I have a plumber who is going to do the install but is unfamiliar with Toto so I am doing my own research as far as toilets I want to use as replacements.

I have three somewhat newer Briggs models currently in my house which is around 30 years old.

One, which I don't see a model number but the lid is the CH-7469 if that helps, which sits 1.5 inches from the wall with the bottom bolts at 12inches exactly. This is my biggest problem toilet as this bathroom backs up every 4 months or so.

Another one which also doesn't show a model number but uses the same lid, the CH-7469, sits flush against the wall and the bottom bolts are 10.5 inches from the wall. This one doesn't get that much use, but it still occasionally backs up probably more as a result of the first one.

The last is the 4965 which sits 2.5 inches from the wall with the bottom bolts at 14 inches. I don't have too many problems with this bathroom.

I hope I haven't missed anything but if I have please let me know. I am off to do more reading.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The original plumber didn't do you any favors! Toilets are ordered by their 'rough-in' dimmensions. This is the distance from the wall (not the baseboard) to the bolts in the flange. Sounds like you have one of each of the commonly available ones: a 10", a 12", and a 14". The one that sits so far from the wall uses a 12" rough-in, so it sits further from the wall. While this will work, it does, as you can see, moves the toilet out further into the room. Some people like this, as you can get behind , but painting back there is still tough without removing.