Submersible pump replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

Jox

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Been lurking here for great tips and guidelines since my water pump failed. This has been a great forum and I wouldn't have attempted replacing my pump if not for the valuable help here.

Anyway, I'm not a pro but fairly handy. Have tested the Franklin control box (manufacture date July 2000 - I assume the pump was in the ground there about around 19 years) to confirm the start line is probably shorted with out of spec low resistance reading. The town has no more record of the well permit so I don't know the detais of the well.

Tracing the pipe to the outside, I was able to locate the well pit. From the pictures below, is that already a pitless adapter on top of the well seal? How do I connect a T-handle to that? Is the plug on the top removable or will I break something?

I'm also considering extending the casing above ground but can I diy this or not allowed legally in CT? I can bring a welder to attach a casing but I'm not sure if I'm allowed to work on the rest.

Thanks for all the help.

Attachments

• 2019-10-14 14.35.22.jpg
    2019-10-14 14.35.22.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 214

Reach4

Reaction score
I am pretty sure that you don't have a pitless adapter. Instead you have a "well seal". Well seals often don't seal very well.

Ideally you will have your pump people put in a pitless, and extend the casing above ground, as you propose.

But in answer to your question, I think that plug will not drop the pump. Removing the 4 bolts, or maybe even 2 bolts, can drop something that will really mess up your well. Your well people will lift the pump out by loosening the 4 bolts, and maybe use that thread where the plug is to lift.

Jox

Reaction score
I am pretty sure that you don't have a pitless adapter. Instead you have a "well seal". Well seals often don't seal very well.