Submersible pump problems

Users who are viewing this thread

Dragos2017

Reaction score
Hi all,

New to the forum. And to my house actually..

I have a 4" submersible pump that only cycles for 20 secs after I reset the power. If it's a quick switch off/on it's 20 seconds. If I turn it off for 4 hours it works for about 2 and a half minutes. Then nothing.

Is this indicative of a failing pump? I'm just concerned the well is going dry. I'm a total newb to this. Thanks in advance!

Reach4

Reaction score
You should get a clamp-around ammeter if you want to diagnose this yourself.

I am not experienced with this, but it sounds compatible with a well running dry. Are you seeing air in your water lately?
I have a 4" submersible pump that only cycles for 20 secs after I reset the power.
When this happens, what is happening to the water pressure during that 20 seconds? Be specific.
If I turn it off for 4 hours it works for about 2 and a half minutes. Then nothing.
What is happening to the water pressure during that 2.5 minutes?

If you need this water for your home, it is probably time to call your pump person. He will know what is happening to wells in your area. He can diagnose, and if the well is going dry, maybe work around the problem by lowering the pump.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Sounds more like an overload tripping. You are giving it more time to cool when off for a few hours and it last longer. Make sure you have the proper voltage to the motor and not just half. Then check the amps. I am guessing they are pegging out.

Dragos2017

Reaction score
You should get a clamp-around ammeter if you want to diagnose this yourself.

I am not experienced with this, but it sounds compatible with a well running dry. Are you seeing air in your water lately?

When this happens, what is happening to the water pressure during that 20 seconds? Be specific.
What is happening to the water pressure during that 2.5 minutes?