Stuck deep well pump. Is this a normal fix?

Users who are viewing this thread

Eric70

Reaction score
This is my first time owning a home with a well, so I’m still trying to educate myself on everything well-related. Several weeks ago, I noticed I had no water when I turned faucets, showers, etc on. The pressure tank was empty, my pump sounded like it had electricity, yet no water was being fed into the tank. A local Well Drilling Company come out to take a look at what the issue may be, and concluded that the pump was “stuck in the lining/casing ”. This company didn’t have the manpower available for the job (in the event it couldn’t be “unstuck”) so I was referred to another company.

This other company came over, tried with a sledgehammer to unstick the pump, but with no luck. My well is 800’ deep, and from what I understand, the pump is set at about 760’. In order to ultimately get to the pump, they hoist up portions of the PVC casing, and saw through the casing to gain access to the galvanized pipe coupling to unscrew each section of pipe. The couplings on the pipe are set every 20’. So, with my pump set at 760’, and having to do this process every 20’, it looks like it will take 38 times for this process to finally reach my pump. They are planning on replacing the pump, check valves, and the electrical wiring that also have to be cut out every 20’.

I was just curious if this is the “normal” process to unstick a pump in a deep well? It makes sense that if the pump is stuck, you have to have a system to get down to it. In 4-1/2 hours, they were able to get 17 sections of pipe out, so with another 21 sections to go to finally get to the pump, it’s definitely going to be a lot of labor. But, I need water, so it is what it is .

I was just wondering if this is typical in a situation like mine?

Thank you for your time in reading, and replies!

Last edited:

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score