Starting a business doing leak detection.

Users who are viewing this thread

PlumbSolve

Reaction score
I have been a plumber for thirty years now.My business is not doing well mainly because I run it poorly.
I would like to try another line of work similar to what I already do so the learning curve is not too great.
I am too soft in business ,cant delegate and forget to write out invoices.
I cannot do enough work in a day with my own two hands and its a fine balance of enough work and enough staff.
At the moment I am the plumber and have two helpers who are in training They have no drivers licences so getting to jobs means they rely on me.
I am thinking of doing something else more in a niche market as such.
My thinking is I could get another team going and teach one of my guys to drive so I have two teams, one to do plumbing and one to find leaks.
I used the services of a special leak finding company the other day. I was quite impressed.The first question was How am I going to pay and they gave me the rates before they started.
They had some fancy equipment of which I only briefly saw as I got there after the leak was found.
My question is would this be a good idea and does anyone here do this for a living who could give me some guide lines as to what equipment is needed.

CountryBumkin

Reaction score
If your a poor business man, changing business models is not going to solve your problem. You either need to hire, or partner with, an office/business manger, or just go to work for someone else and let them deal with the business side (then you just handle the technical/trades side).

Addling "leak detection" to your "plumbing" business offerings would help expand your business opportunities - but I wouldn't rely on it alone. IMO.

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
Website
www.weilhammerplumbing.com