Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Don't know

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Users who are viewing this thread

mrnoitall

Reaction score
Just bought a 2500 gallon water tank and a CLTS5 1/2HP Country Line Cast Iron Jet Pump.

There is no well or water main from city nearby. We get our water delivered by a water transport company.

My reason for posting this is to check my plumbing installation.

Tank has a 2" bottom outlet and a 1-1/2" outlet by lid; I plugged the 1-1/2" outlet since the transporter will fill from lid opening.

Jet Pump has a pressure switch, 1-1/4" suction inlet, and a 1" outlet.

Location of the tank is about 180' from the building because the water truck would get stuck in the soft sand. I was contemplating either running electrical and plumbing or just plumbing. I chose just running plumbing. The slope is about 1" drop per 1' run.

My Plumbing:
From tank bottom outlet: I have a 2" Elbow 90 degrees into a ball valve and two tees: one tee acts as a drain and is plugged; the second acts as a gravity fed faucet. After the tees, ran 60 feet of 2" PVC schedule 40 pipes.

At the end of the 2" pipe installed a 2" to 1-1/4" reducer and ran another 60 feet of 1-1/4" PVC schedule 40 pipes. At the end, since I am burying the pipe, I added two 45 degree elbows to bring the pipe level with the jet pump inlet. The pump is now about 60' from the building.

The jet pump outlet: I plan to install 2 elbows 90 degree into a ball valve, then into the ground to another 90 degree elbow, and then a 1" check valve. I have 20' of 1" PVC schedule 40 pipe; in the middle, 10' from pump, I plan to install a tee with faucet raised above ground. At the end of the 20', I plan to add a threaded plug so I can add another pipe in the future. Currently there will be 1 faucet installed with this setup but plan to connect the supply line to the building at a later date. The faucet will supply water to a motorhome.