Soldering larger copper 1.5+

Users who are viewing this thread

psolutions

Reaction score
Doing mostly residential we very rarely solder copper so a small propane tank with a 4' reach dose the trick.

We recently started doing light commercial and the only thing that seems to be a pain in the arse is soldering 1.5 copper lines with these little old things.

There has to be a better way??

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Acetylene or MAPP gas both would work well. The torch you use will make a difference as well.

Sixlashes

Plumber in Previous Life
Reaction score
Back when I was a real plumber, I bought a propane torch that uses interchangable tips that works well for all sizes of copper. It has a regulator that attaches to the propane tank, a 10 foot hose and the handle/tip assembly. I have tips that range from 5/16" diameter to a monster that is 1-1/4" diameter. They range from about 7" to 11" long. I soldered 1/2" to 3/4" with the smallest tip and reliably soldered type M - 4" with the largest. If you are interested, I can find the brand. I used it for ten years and other than cleaning the orifices in the tips, never had a problem.

Maybe someone else on the forum knows the make of it.

Last edited:

Sixlashes

Plumber in Previous Life
Reaction score
Found it. It is a: TurboTorch LP-1 LP CONTRACTORS KIT

The link to it is about a thousand charaters. Google it. This one comes with a T-4 and a T-6 tip. The T-6 is the biggest. Their web site recommends it up to 4" copper. If you need more heat, you can also run this with MAPP and get higher temps from it. The smaller tips are great for working it tight spaces without starting the place on fire.

Like I said before, I always used propane and got the job done. It was what we used at the time and I got used to it. It was and still is a reliable work horse. I only use it now for those "can you help with a problem at the house" scenarios from friends. :cool:

hj

Master Plumber