Softener & Nuetralizer Help

Users who are viewing this thread

DaveBfromCT

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a newbie at well water treatment so please go easy on me. I have a family of 5 in CT in a 2.5 bathroom house and my well water treatment equipment is ~24 years old. This past week I received the following water test results and work quote from my well service company:

Hardness: 15.0 gpg
Iron: 1.0 ppm
pH: 6.0 units
Manganese: 0.0 ppm
T.D.S: 265 ppm

AFN-13-EV Golden Eagle Evolve Series Neutralizer with plus plus for pH (filled w/limestone)
GF-532-EV (32,000 gr.) Golden Eagle Evolve Series Water Softener with smart valves
Both Installed: $5674

WR120 pressure tank (already replaced this myself - just put in here for pump gpm reference)
Installed: $1526

Their prices seem WAY to high to me (I replaced the WR120 for 1/3 the cost).

I presently have an old neutralizer and old water softener installed in a water closet with plenty of space. Can anyone recommend equivalent (or at the least adequate) equipment that I could purchase and install myself? I know that I haven't given a lot of info but hopefully what I have provided will be good enough to start a dialog.

Thanks!
Dave

Attachments

• Well Water Treatment Quote.pdf
    125.4 KB · Views: 364

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
Their price is typical for a proprietary equipment dealer. If you want to do it yourself there are many companies that have similar equipment at much more reasonable prices.

Dgold

Avoid DIYer
Reaction score
I would try to fix it first. Same thing happened to mine in my old house, but the guys used a simple home made tool to break up the caking and clean it out.