Softener issue.

Users who are viewing this thread

PeterDC

Reaction score
Hi Guys, I’m new to the forum and have been searching online for the answer to what I thought would be a fairly simple problem. I kept coming across this forum and so I thought this would be the best place to ask for advice.

Ok so the problem is I have resin fines getting through the taps in my home which leaves a small amount in the bottom of the bath tub, sink etc. we moved into the house around 3 years ago and the water softener was already installed and seemed to be functioning correctly. A short time after moving in we noticed resin beads in the toilet tanks. I read up online and several placed stated that the "membrane” would be damaged allowing resin through. Well I have a Clack WS1TC valve on top of a 9x48 tank with the usual brine tank sitting next to it. I am no expert but I don’t think the Clack WS1TC has such a ‘Membrane’ and so I am now looking for the solution. Last week I replaced the resin and gravel bed with the specified amounts = 1cf of ‘Purolite C100E Resin’ and 15lbs of gravel.

Inspection of the valve assembly, riser tube and both top and bottom screens showed no signs of wear or damage and all items were thoroughly cleaned and put back into service. All seals were lubricated and refitted with silicone lubricant. The tank was filled with water before the valve was refitted and the system was reset and run through a regen cycle before recommissioning.