Slow leak with all new guts in toilet.

Users who are viewing this thread

Mastiff

Reaction score
Our toilet was having various issues so I decided to just replace everything. I got a fluidmaster kit (not the dual flush) and installed it. I waited a day and felt around under the tank and could feel a little water. There was clearly a slow leak. I'm not sure the brand of the toilet, but it is set up so when you tighten the tank to the base, it has ceramic ridges so you can't make the seal very tight before it bottoms out. I felt like I would have preferred to squeeze the seal a bit more but couldn't because of this "feature".

My real question is this: I pulled the tank off, set it on the sink and filled it with water. It leaks like a sieve around the main valve (the one with the flapper). Should the tank hold water when not mounted to the base? It seems to me that it should, and that the big seal between the tank and base should only come into play during the flush. Is that right? If so, any idea what I could have done so wrong? There's a big rubber gasket on the main flapper valve that I think should be holding water.

Thanks.

Reach4

Reaction score
One place the leak could come from is at the flush valve. That could be from roughness at the gasket or the big nut not being tight enough.

There will also be a seal under the head each tank bolt. But that does not appear to be the problem since you localized the leak to the flush valve.

Each seal would benefit from some silicone grease between the porcelain and the seal. Sometimes there is some roughness on the ceramic/porcelean that fine sandpaper may remove..

img_4.png

Mastiff

Reaction score
Thanks, I'll try the grease trick. It looks like there is a fine crack from one of the bolt holes toward the flush valve. Maybe that's the problem too.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
A cracked tank needs to be replaced.