Sizing, I'm sure the forum is tired of these questions...

Users who are viewing this thread

Mooch91

Reaction score
I've pored over water softener sizing information for the past week. For what it's worth, I'm a chemical engineer by profession and am having a little trouble making the right conclusions.

Here are the specs:
  • Hardness - between 185 and 242 mg/L (as reported on two different tests; I used the higher value).
  • Iron - none
  • Manganese - none
  • pH - 7.3
  • Family of three (maybe 4 eventually) with high water usage (wife and I shower in AM and bathe in PM, lots of dishes and car washing); no special fixtures.
  • House with kitchen sink, scrub sink, 2 baths (1 shower, 1 tub), clothes washer, dishwasher, and three hose bibs.
  • Water is supplied by well (25 years old) - pressure between 35 and 60 psi - flow measured at bathtub around 10 gpm (if I remember correctly).

A vendor spec'ed me a 32000 grain system but suggested I could upsize to 40000 grains. Suggested was a Fleck 2510 at 40000 grains because of the 1" internal valve (1.25 cu ft resin).

Gary Slusser's calculator confirms about 27000 grain system but suggests a 1.5 cu ft softener size. Not sure if this is resin volume or softener size, but this would suggest a 48000 grain softener if it's resin volume (the 30K setups I've seen are 1.0 cu ft, 40K are 1.25 cu ft).

Where I get even more lost is at the SFR calc (and I have studied Gary's page)... If my well is putting out about 10 - 12 gpm, I'm somewhere between a 1.25 and 2.0 cu ft unit per Gary's page. If I add up all my fixtures and randomly pick a plumbing code to determine SFR sizing, this has me at 2.0 cu ft+.

Help...

Last edited:

Gary Slusser

That's all folks!
Reaction score
Website
www.qualitywaterassociates.com
The K of capacity of all softeners is adjustable.