Shower leak in master bath

Users who are viewing this thread

johnb123

Reaction score
I have a small master bath that was redone probably 10 years ago by the previous owner. A few weeks ago I had to replace a cracked tile in front of the shower curb. When I pulled up the tile, I noticed that it was wet underneath. I assumed that when my wife and I would get out of the shower the some dripping/standing water would penetrate the crack, hence the wet subfloor. So I let if dry out for a week then replaced the tile. Now that we have been using the shower again for the last two weeks, I am noticing water staining on the ceiling in my garage. There is a leak that i need to find. Since the tile was just in front of the curb, I am suspecting that it is coming from that area. I will add a few pictures. There is definitely some missing grout and I plan to try recaulking around the curb and the the glass door channel. There is a big open gap under the curb the needs caulk. Based on the pictures are there any other suspect areas?

Attachments

• shower1.jpg
    shower1.jpg
    48.4 KB · Views: 193
  • shower2.jpg
    shower2.jpg
    43.6 KB · Views: 187
  • shower3.jpg
    shower3.jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 188

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
First, tile is not the waterproofing, a shower should be water tight even without tile on it.

Does the curb have any slope towards the inside of the shower? Can't tell, did they use any screws to mount the bottom track on the door? There should not be any.

Some studies say that 70-80% of the showers built are not built to industry standards.

johnb123

Reaction score
First, tile is not the waterproofing, a shower should be water tight even without tile on it.

Does the curb have any slope towards the inside of the shower? Can't tell, did they use any screws to mount the bottom track on the door? There should not be any.

Some studies say that 70-80% of the showers built are not built to industry standards.