Shower drain stinketh - Oatey Casper mold

Users who are viewing this thread

jschwend

Reaction score
Hello! I have a drain on the master bath shower stall that gradually builds up mold and needs cleaning. As if I don't have enough things to routinely clean in the bathroom.

It's an Oatley Casper installed by the house builder plumber on a shower pan (not sure the material). It looks like the rough cut of the pipe is too long by about 1/2 inch. Because of this, there is a permanent pool of water ringed around the inside. My thought was to get one of these: https://www.menards.com/main/plumbi...parts/quikcutter-internal-pipe-cutter/ps-100/ to trim from the inside being careful (of course) to not damage the black rubber gasket. Do I need that extra pipe length? Was it just the plumber being a bit lazy?

The pic shows a quarter in the "ring pool" of water. I had just cleaned it today too.
image2.jpeg
image1.jpeg

jschwend

Reaction score
Oh! forgot to add, this shower is used twice daily. The pipe is clear of debris, hair etc. The smell is a "damp" smell even if the shower is very dry. There is no mold in the shower stall itself. The smell is there within a few hours of finishing the shower or so. This has been a problem since we moved in 7 years ago, but i'm sick of cleaning it.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Does the shower drain maintain water in the p-trap between uses? That's normally where I would think the smell would be coming from.

jschwend

Reaction score
Does the shower drain maintain water in the p-trap between uses? That's normally where I would think the smell would be coming from.
Thank you Terry for the fast reply! I'll keep an eye on the level this week and report back.

jschwend

Reaction score