Shower drain clogged. Drain removal?

Users who are viewing this thread

DrainHelp29

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Our master shower drain has become clogged. I looked at the drain cover and noticed there are no screws to remove it. I tried prying it open using a screwdriver and allen wrench, and it would not pop out. Is the shower drain cover grouted in? If so, how do I remove it? I'm thinking of trying to use the drain weasel hair clog tool thru one of the drain holes, but am worried it will be hard to bring it back out of the drain cover with whatever it brings back up.

I've attached a picture of the drain and the "drain weasel" tool.
IMG_4938.jpg
IMG_4939.jpg

Thanks for the help.

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro. I think the holes nearest the corners are actually prongs that snapped in. I would try more force. That does not mean it is the right thing to do.

In the attached snip, I put an orange arrow next to one of the presumed prongs, where I would try sticking a suitably sized flat screwdriver to pry. Note that the force would be applied to a thicker part of the metal rather than a thin web part.

Attachments

• img.jpg
    img.jpg
    45.3 KB · Views: 348

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The cover should pry off. If not, go slow with the drain weasel and have a knife handy to cut off the hairs that will be clinging to it.

DrainHelp29

Reaction score
Thanks guys. I was able to get the drain cover off and ran the drain weasel and removed a decent amount of hair/gunk. Ran the water and the drain is still clogged unfortunately. What would you guys recommend for my next step? Try a plunger? Or is it time to call a professional?

Thanks again.

Reach4

Reaction score
I like the Brasscraft drain bladder. I think a medium would be good. That would mean hooking up a garden hose.