Shower drain assembly

Users who are viewing this thread

KristenJensen

Reaction score
Hello friends,

I have a cement slab home from the 1950’s in El Paso, Texas. I tore out the entire shower for a redo, and decided to center the drain while I was at it. My plan is to cut this pipe near the bottom, attach a 90, then a short straight piece horizontally, then another sweeping 90 with another short piece going vertical to where the drain will attach. I would use a primer and PVC glue for the attachments (after dry fitting.)

Does these sound like the right steps? And do I need a slight slope on the horizontal piece for proper drainage?

Finally, on the height of the drain, I assume the 4 plastic nubs (that the 4 screws turn into) will be under the cement when I pour so that the flat part “rests” on top of the concrete I pour? I will be pouring a pre-slope.

Bonus Question: What YouTubers have good plumbing channels? I like the following, even though they aren’t plumbers by trade they dabble in it. TileMasterGA, SalDiblasi, StarrTile (I know the last guy is controversial)

Thanks everyone

Attachments

• Floor depth.jpg
    Floor depth.jpg
    92.7 KB · Views: 232
  • Hole.jpg
    Hole.jpg
    117.3 KB · Views: 251

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Not a great idea.

Crack enough concrete to expose the trap, cut that off, run the horizontal to where you want the new drain, install a new p-trap and riser. The horizontal section must abide by two requirements:
- it must have slope to it to drain
- it must not be more than 5' from the outlet of the trap to the vent on a 2" pipe.

If you're going to tile the shower, do some research. Lots of ways to make a successful shower, many more ways to mess it up. Check out www.johnbridge.com for help in building the shower...plumbing help here is good, but shower construction is spotty.