Should water stream from unconnected fridge line when faucet is on?

Users who are viewing this thread

Glenn Pillsbury

Reaction score
Hi all,

We're about to start renting a house. When we toured the place I saw the copper water line for the refrigerator (we have to bring our own fridge). However, when we turned on the kitchen faucet, water streamed out of the line and onto the floor. I am not experienced at all with kitchen plumbing, but it seemed strange even to me that an unconnected fridge line would spew water, and it also seemed strange that the fridge line will only receive water if the faucet is turned on. Does this sound right?

The house was built in 1959, so the water line is likely an aftermarket add-on. I have asked the property manager about this, but since we have to bring our own fridge I wanted to if there was something special the installers needed to know about the hook-up before the fridge arrives.

Thanks for you help.

Glenn

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
What they did was to tee off of the cold water line to the sink after the shut off valve. While it does seem to work as long as everything is connected, it's not the conventional way to connect the ice maker for the very reason you have discovered. The regular way is to connect to the main supply line with a tee and a valve. The way most folks do it is incorrect, they use a saddle valve that punches a hole in the supply line. It usually will fail sooner or later. The best way is with a tee followed by a ball valve and then reduce to the copper tube for the ice maker. This costs a few dollars more and takes a few minutes longer, but it is the professional way to do it.

Glenn Pillsbury

Reaction score
Thanks, Gary. I appreciate the speedy response.

So they should have tee'd off *before* the sink shut off valve. Ok. I think I understand.