Shopping for new toilet, ADA with low tank

Users who are viewing this thread

canadave

Reaction score
Hi all, please bear with me here, I'm an amateur (and I freely admit it!) I'm looking for recommendations on a good toilet to buy--inexpensive is good, but if there's features that really make a toilet worth buying over its inexpensive brethren, we have the money to do so. Here's the caveats/criteria:

My wife and I have a relatively small bathroom with a very small toilet. We'd like to upgrade our toilet, and while doing so, also buy a proper bidet toilet seat (not one of the cheap $30 ones that clip under the seat). There are two problems we have to work around:

1) There is a small extension shelf for the bathroom sink that extends over the area where the toilet is. The extension shelf sticks out about 4 or 5 inches from the wall, but that's not the problem; any toilet would fit underneath it just fine. The problem is that to provide support for the shelf, there is a piece of 3/4" painted MDF underneath it that is bolted vertically onto the wall (i.e. the thin edge of the MDF helps support the shelf). The distance from the floor to the bottom of the MDF is 27.75 inches. That means that any toilet tank that extends higher than 27.75 inches, and is less than 3/4" clearance from the wall, won't fit. I could theoretically cut out the bottom of the piece of MDF all the way across in order to "raise" the amount of clearance for the toilet, but would rather not do that if I don't have to.

2) We would prefer to have the toilet not extend out from the wall much past 28 or 29 inches, due to a walk-in shower entry next to the toilet. That being said, we want an elongated seat, not round (I'm pretty tall).

Any suggestions? So far I'm looking at the Kohler Cimarron or Elmbrook. I would LOVE a Kohler Santa Rosa, but it appears it only has 1/2" clearance from the wall and is juuuuuust slightly too high to fit under the MDF :( I'm really tempted to cut that sucker...