Shallow Well Pump Wiring

Users who are viewing this thread

zeetwoeight

Reaction score
Good day all,
I purchased a country cabin with a shallow well pump. I am a complete newbie when it comes to pumps so I have a question on the way it was wired up. Please see attached diagram (NOTE: I can't recall if that fuse was a 25A or 30A but it was larger than 20A - which I thought was wrong since the 12/2 is for 20A correct?). Couple of questions:
1. I'm assuming the switch/fuse panel is there to server two purposes: first a way to easily turn off the pump rather than just unplugging it ; second to handle the initial startup load and avoid tripping the 15 breaker? Would that be the case?

2. If I wanted to replace the switch/fuse panel could I use an outlet controlled by a single pole switch (both 20A rated) fed directly from a 20A breaker in the main panel? This still allows me to turn off the pump easily.

3. If my #1 point above is not the case, can I just use an outlet controlled by a single pole switch (both 15A rated) fed directly from a 15A breaker in the main panel?

Thanks for an input/info. Cheers.

Attachments

• pumpconnection.jpg
    pumpconnection.jpg
    27.2 KB · Views: 208

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
I'm assuming the switch/fuse panel is there to server two purposes: first a way to easily turn off the pump rather than just unplugging it ; second to handle the initial startup load and avoid tripping the 15 breaker? Would that be the case?
No. Having a larger than 15A fuse matters not since the 15A breaker will trip at 15A regardless since they are in series. Why do you want to replace it?

zeetwoeight

Reaction score
Yes that would work, but a plug or outlet with that much current is not a good idea.
Any reason why it would not be a good idea? Pretty certain now that code in our area calls for 20A (T-slot) outlets in kitchen areas so would there be any reason why having a 20A for something like the pump would be a concern?