Sewer smell when washing clothes

Users who are viewing this thread

Skorbel

Reaction score
I am visiting my parents home for Thanksgiving and I've learned that they have an issue with their plumbing where there is a foul smell every time they wash clothes. This smell does not occur when washing dishes, showering, flushing the toilet, or anything else but using the washing machine. I confirmed the machine itself does not smell by inspecting it with my nose after the smell cleared out (hours after washing clothes).

I've attached pictures from the washer to the wall, and then also all the piping in the basement. I'm a IT professional and not a plumber but I don't see where there is a trap to stop gasses coming back when the washer pushes water.

[edit] I've traced the path of the pipe with a red line to make it easier to know which pipe i'm talking about.

Thoughts?

Attachments

• WasherToWall.jpg
    WasherToWall.jpg
    38.4 KB · Views: 576
  • BasementWallToDrain1.jpg
    BasementWallToDrain1.jpg
    51.8 KB · Views: 361
  • BasementWallToDrain2.jpg
    BasementWallToDrain2.jpg
    100.7 KB · Views: 374
  • BasementWallToDrain3.jpg
    BasementWallToDrain3.jpg
    79.1 KB · Views: 387

Jadziedzic

Reaction score
You'll need to remove some drywall from the area below the washer connection box so you can see if there's a trap within the wall (as per code) with a vent connection. If not (i.e., the drain line runs straight into the basement) adding one will likely resolve the problem.

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
Yes, the trap is required to be on the same floor as the washer, and it must be properly vented. It is hard to know what you have there without looking inside the wall or running the line with a camera.

Reach4

Reaction score
ut I don't see where there is a trap to stop gasses coming back when the washer pushes water.