Self-Leveling cement

Users who are viewing this thread

Bosun

Reaction score
Wow--I've never used this stuff before--it's terrible. I'd say the "self"-leveling includes me! Not as easy to use as the people at my local big-box would have you believe.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
If you understand the stuff, it can work wonders...if you don't, it will create a big mess. The surface tension of the stuff requires you spread it to wet the surface of interest, otherwise, it will act sort of like water on a newly waxed car. Once all surfaces are wetted, and you have a deep enough layer, it will self-level on its own with no further action. Also, people often try to use it too thin, or work it like concrete. While they all say you can feather it out, it takes some skill to do that. Flood an area with a thick enough layer, and it works great. Depending on the forumula, the temperature, and the substrate, it can start to set up in less than 10-minutes...you have to work fast. Anything you try to do after that starts is a disaster waiting to happen. Also, it is imperative to use the primer and cover it within the prescribed timeframe, or the bond will be suspect as well.

There's a good thread on this subject at www.johnbridge.com in their "Liberry" (sic) done by a guy who has been in the industry for decades...a good reference. I've only used it once, and it did exactly what I needed and wanted. Slick stuff, but expensive.

Geniescience

Homeowner
Reaction score
ditto. It can be a waste of money, a headache, and a setback preventing you from finishing your project. It can cause huge problems.

Or, it can do what it is supposed to do.

All the employees at big box stores are hired for their ability to make you feel quietly confident. They all act as if you are able.

-- Anything else, and they don't get hired.

Whether they make you feel overconfident, is not a concern.
Whether they mislead you in judging yourself, is not a concern.