Seeking help to reduce noise from shower drain

Users who are viewing this thread

eagle

Reaction score
Hello All,

My brother-in-law recently gutted my bathroom and installed a custom tiled stand-up shower built on a mortar bed. The water drains very quickly to the p-trap (I have limited plumbing knowledge, so thanks for bearing with me). The drain is a 2-inch diameter PVC pipe and the run from the drain opening to the water in the P-trap is about a foot.

When the water is draining I can hear (over the shower water) loud splashing noise emanating from the drain. The drain is not clogged. I find these noises to be annoying and am searching for a solution. The shower strainer is about 4 inches in diameter, and after I covered about 30% of the shower strainer with a couple pieces of tape (yes, I have no plumbing experience) I notice that the noise coming from the drain goes away and the water also doesn't pool much at all. With this method, the drain does not make the annoying noise and the water is all drained about 5-7 seconds after I turn the shower water off.

I am looking for a permanent fix (the tape idea is kludgy but it works). One idea is to install a funnel just below the shower strainer so that the water can enter the funnel unimpeded but then not have the opportunity to splash around a 2-inch pipe. The funnel would but 2.5 inches at the opening and have a discharge/exit opening of say, 1 inch. I found a funnel like this on the web (it is not intended for this purpose) but I think this may work. Another idea is to find a shower strainer with fewer holes (to emulate the tape on the shower strainer with many holes).

I have not found anything on the web about loud draining in showers. I am ultra-sensitive to noise, so I know there is a small audience for these types of issues. However, the fact that the "tape" solution markedly reduces noise and does not generate standing water tells me that there must be a solution out there.