Ruth Berry 158K 1HP well controller?

Users who are viewing this thread

Sid Post

Reaction score
Hello everyone! New guy here with an unplanned water issue. First of all a ~$2k water bill for a water line break while I was gone for 5 days! :eek: I have been told they (plumbers) won't be able to find the break since the rain has my front pasture flooded so, the 'city' water has been shut off for the time being since the 1200' for the 2" water service line has a break somewhere I can't find right now.

I stopped using the well last fall so, the past few days I've been trying to get it back in service. Turns out in addition to my general electrical issues, I have bad controller box. It is a Ruth Berry 158K 1HP 15 "stage" controller. What do that cross-reference too? The electrical service looks like 230V but, there are only two lines in and two lines out. Is it possibly some sort of 3phase to single phase conversion?

TIA,
Sid
Ruth_Berry.JPG

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro.
I suspect it came with a 1 HP 15 stage pump, which would be something like a 5 gpm pump. That would be for water about 200 to 350 ft down. Maybe more if it was not providing much pressure up top.

A pump controller would have 3 wires out. If not 3 wires out, maybe it is an overload breaker. Can you look inside?

Sid Post

Reaction score
My mistake, you are right two wires in that appear to be the 230V pickoffs from the pressure switch into the controller box with three wires to the wellhead/pump.

Reach4

Reaction score
My mistake, you are right two wires in that appear to be the 230V pickoffs from the pressure switch into the controller box with three wires to the wellhead/pump.
In that case, 3 wire controller. You could replace the capacitor(s) in the old box, or get a new control box for a 1 HP Franklin. The number of stages is not important to selecting a controller.

You could do ohmmeter measurements if you want to be more sure before proceeding.

Sid Post

Reaction score