Roughing in toilet & sink

Users who are viewing this thread

TontoYoder

Reaction score
I'm an amateur at plumbing, but customers have asked me to add 1/2 bath to ground floor.
They had the foresight to plan for an eventual toilet, so there was 4" pipe and a closet bend capped off under the concrete slab that I've chipped away.
The 4" pipe is at a 45∘ angle from rear wall and the closet bend turns upward 12" from the existing rear wall.

Since I'm adding a rear wall of 2X3s to hide the plumbing from an added vanity, I have to adjust the 12" distance from the new wall.
I also don't want the toilet upstream from the vanity right? So, apparently I need to go in a somewhat roundabout way to make the sink connection?
Could folks check the proposed diagram to see if I'm doing this correctly?

Last edited:

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
Your existing plumbing might have the water closet vented through the lavatory.

Your drawing fails as there are no vents shown on either fixture. You also cannot have a section of pipe upstream of the fixtures as it would harbor waste after a backup. It would make more sense if the WC was at the end of the line. Without knowing how the WC was intended to be vented, you are stabbing in the dark.

TontoYoder

Reaction score
Your existing plumbing might have the water closet vented through the lavatory.
Thanks, but I'm not sure what you mean. The existing plumbing here is merely PVC pipe in a concrete slab and I don't know if they were planning for a sink or not. Since it's a slab, it's difficult to go exploring.

Your drawing fails as there are no vents shown on either fixture. You also cannot have a section of pipe upstream of the fixtures as it would harbor waste after a backup. It would make more sense if the WC was at the end of the line. Without knowing how the WC was intended to be vented, you are stabbing in the dark.
"Stabbing in the dark" is pretty much how I feel, so I'm here looking for help.