Rheem PRO+G29-60N RH70 (aka XR90) - UPS?

Users who are viewing this thread

MFred

Reaction score
Hello,

Long time reader of the forum - have learnt a ton from all of the information shared here over the years. First time poster.

I got this Rheem Professional Classic Plus Induced Draft 29 gallon, 60,000 BTU water heater installed by a professional last week. I have been researching this for a couple of months and was drawn by the combination of FHR, recovery rate and energy efficiency of this heater. This replaced a 14 year old Bradford White 40 gallon.

My one concern with this (and most of the newer) water heater is their dependence on electricity. I live in the Portland, Oregon area where power failures are rare, but, do happen during the winter (ironically, when we need the hot water most!). I have read a few articles/posts online that it's OK to use a UPS between the water heater and the wall outlet. I have a brand new 1350VA UPS (modified sine wave) and am wondering if any of you have any thoughts or recommendations. Here are a few additional data points:

1. The installer did not recommend using a UPS because he felt that the blower motor wouldn't work (or work well) with the UPS. He wasn't sure if the modified sine wave would damage the motor or anything else in the water heater.

2. You guys probably know every bit that uses electricity in this heater - is there anything that can get fried by a modified sine wave UPS?

3. If a modified sine wave UPS is risky, how about a pure sine wave UPS? (such as
https://www.cyberpowersystems.com/products/ups/pfc-sinewave/cp1500pfclcd

4. I contacted Rheem Tech Support with these questions using their online "Contact Us" page, but, haven't heard back.

5. Will a UPS damage components in the water heater? Will using one impact the warranty? (this is probably a question for Rheem, but, since they didn't answer, I'm hoping you guys can speak from experience :)).