Replacing plumbing at well supply tank

Users who are viewing this thread

JON

Reaction score
The galvanized fitting thats on the supply line from the well needs replacing.Looking over options I see there are brass and plastic (dark gray)types that look identical.Whats my best option?Id also like to know if using pvc to replace the galvanized pipes is ok.I plan on replacing the pressure gauge and relay at the same time.It all looks possible with all the parts available in pvc .Also should there be a check valve between the well supply and tank? thanks so much.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Assuming you have a typical system, then there is a check valve somewhere - it may be in the pump. If it works now, not sure what adding a second one would do for you. I'm not a pro, don't have any idea on the other items. My guess is that pvc may not be a good idea, although it might work great. I don't like the idea of the plastic under pressure, but it may be capable of it. Obviously, some plastics work, take pex for example, but not sure if it is right for this application.

Gary Slusser

That's all folks!
Reaction score
Website
www.qualitywaterassociates.com
JON said:
The galvanized fitting thats on the supply line from the well needs replacing.Looking over options I see there are brass and plastic (dark gray)types that look identical.Whats my best option?Id also like to know if using pvc to replace the galvanized pipes is ok.I plan on replacing the pressure gauge and relay at the same time.It all looks possible with all the parts available in pvc .Also should there be a check valve between the well supply and tank? thanks so much.