replacing cast iron radiator supplys

Users who are viewing this thread

williambonetto

Reaction score
I need to relocate a couple of cast iron radiators in my own house. So before I turn the heat on in the house I would like to replace the pipes going to each radiator with barrier pex. I want to install a manifold for the supply and return. I am thinking a 1" manifold with 3/4" pex to each radiator.
I am a builder so I’m not shy to try this myself, just want to make sure I do it right the first time before the cold gets here. Hard to say cold weather when it has not been out of the 90's for weeks now, but I need to get this done so any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Bill Bonetto
Bonetto's Carpentry

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Radiators are NOT like baseboard heat, so you have to be careful when you redo piping for them that you maintain flow and capacity. I am not sure HOW you intend to pipe to a manifold or to the radiators, but it might NOT be the right way to do it. More details might help.

williambonetto

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I'll try to be a little more specific. House is about 50+ years old. Currently I have the original 2" diameter two pipe system running down the basement ceiling from boiler in rear of house to the front of the house. When my boiler was replaced a year ago all the new plumbing they installed was 1" copper from the boiler increasing in size to the 2" supply and return. I would like to build a 1" manifold out of 1" copper with 1" x 1" x 3/4" Tee's. Out of the Tee's I would like to put a 3/4" full port ball valve. Then to each radiator use 3/4" pex and back to the return manifold. I do know that I would have to use a barrier pex. In my head I'm thinking this should work but you guys are the pros.

Thanks
Bill Bonetto
Bonetto's Carpentry

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com