Replacing a Weil Mclain CGA6 and expansion tank

Users who are viewing this thread

Stallion81

Reaction score
Hello all new to the forum. I do concrete for a living so bear with me. My expansion tank (plain steel) was leaking at the end of the year from the top, and my boiler also blew a leak. I'm assuming it was a combination of things including my auto fill valve. System was running correctly even with the drip from the expansion tank(12-15lbs). I haven't removed the tank yet too see how high the leak was on the tank(top in joists).

I'm replacing a Weil McLain CGA6 ,with a CGA6(new version), that I actually physically installed myself 22+ years ago? I just had someone wire it for me. My problem is either replacing the plain steel expansion which I cant seem to find, or replumbing for the newer vertical expansion tanks. Now for the replumb and expansion size questions I'm here to ask. When I replaced the prior boiler, the plumbing was straight forward as I was not changing anything but boiler types.

The current plumbing for the CGA6 and the prior boiler worked fine. I'm assuming this system was installed in the 50'-60's as the baseboard radiators were Sears Robucks steel 11" high by various lengths.

Here goes. The boiler is fed off the hot water heater with 3/4" pipe double T. One on/off "quick fill" valve, the other a B&G 12 PSI reducing valve(the auto fill). Off the otherside of those valves the 3/4" pipe goes both up and down(connected completely 4 ways/from either fill and up/down). It goes up to my current steel expansion tank(dead end). It goes down to "what I was told" is an air separator. This separator has the 3/4 feed on the left(feed side), the boiler 1 1/4 OUTPUT on the right(heat pushing up) and a 1 1/4" output to both zones on the top.