Repairing Copper Sweat Joints

Users who are viewing this thread

JL

Reaction score
Does anyone have a solid technique for repairing 1" copper pipe sweat joints that leak when first tested after being asembled? I am trying to decide whether to try and repair the faulty solder joints or cut the fittings out and start over.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
It is my understanding that water precludes adding solder to a sweat joint. I'd cut the leaking fitting out and redo. It's likely you either didn't get the joint fluxed enough or didn't heat it enough. Regardless of the "why", I'd sure feel more secure with a new joint that I knew was done right.:)

Riosman

Reaction score
Repairing copper joints

I would cut it out if water was in the tube.
I'm not a profession but have repaired and sweated on many times. Watched my Dad go thru the pain of learning as well.

My mistake when learning.

Over heating the tube during the sweat

Riosman

mowin

Reaction score
MAPP gas, super clean (even new), and don't forget the bread from ur sandwich to keep the water away from the new joint!

Randyj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
That's a good reason to test with air rather than water (when possible). I've had some luck just cleaning the outside heating and dabbing on some flux. A wet rag on a hot pipe cleans pretty good then dab on the flux and add a touch of solder... you get about a 50% chance that it will work. I've been able to heat it up and wrestle the fitting off re-clean then re-solder but for the cost of fittings I'd rather just put a new fitting on small pipe. I might give a little effort to more expensive fittings... replacing just a fitting is very time consuming that's why it's so very important to get really super clean, properly fluxed and soldered the first time. I know a few who say not to even touch a cleaned pipe because body oil or dirt on the fingers will contaminate the solder joint and I tend to work with it like it is "sterile" technique.

Cass