Repair Leaking Pull Out Kitchen Faucet

Users who are viewing this thread

BarbD

Reaction score
Novice here would appreciate any help on repairing a leaking Kohler pull-out kitchen faucet.

The faucet leaks a bit from under the handle. I've removed the handle and the flange (?) to expose the top of the cartridge. I removed a small screw from the top of the cartridge and tried to pull it out, but something -- a clip maybe -- is holding it in. I've tried to pull the whole sleeve and attached spout up off the unit to see if there is a clip underneath, but it stops after about half an inch. It feels like the hose from the pull out spout is preventing the whole thing from coming off, but not sure that's the case.

So the cartridge won't pull out and the sleeve/spout won't pull off, and I can't reach any rings. Not sure what to do. Any suggestions?

Thank you.

BarbD

Reaction score
Thank you Terry. Here's a picture:

FaucetPicB.jpg

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
you remove the weight and then unfasten it from the bottom of the faucet. How you do that depends on which of the many possibilities they use to connect it.

BarbD

Reaction score
Thanks to your guidance, I was able to disconnect the hose and remove the sleeve and attached spout, but am stumped as to how to remove the cartridge. I can't find a clip. Here's a picture -- thanks for any suggestions!

Kitchen Faucet C.jpg

BarbD

Reaction score
Thank you Terry. I was thinking that and tried to take it off, but the whole unit turned with it. Think it's ok if I wrap a pair of pliers in a towel and grab the tapered area in the middle to hold it?

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Think it's ok if I wrap a pair of pliers in a towel and grab the tapered area in the middle to hold it?

You can put pliers on the brass body. That is all covered anyway when you slip the faucet back over it.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com