Remove Well Seal on a Twin Pipe Deep Well

Users who are viewing this thread

scarrie1

Reaction score
I am a rookie and I have a Twin Pipe Deep Well.

I am trying to remove the Well Cap. The bolts are so worn and old that I may have to chisel them off.

Is there anything I need to be concerned about before I do that?

Will I lose anything down the pipe?

Does the well cap and seal support the pipes, will they drop down by me taking the cap off?

Thanks for you help on this.

Gary Slusser

That's all folks!
Reaction score
Website
www.qualitywaterassociates.com
I am a rookie and I have a Twin Pipe Deep Well.

I am trying to remove the Well Cap. The bolts are so worn and old that I may have to chisel them off.

Is there anything I need to be concerned about before I do that?

Will I lose anything down the pipe?

Does the well cap and seal support the pipes, will they drop down by me taking the cap off?

Thanks for you help on this.
There are two steel halves to the top of the seal and the same on the bottom. So removing the nuts/bolts allows half the bottom or all of it down the well. That you don't want so you loosen the nuts/bolt on one half and then the other and then you need to get it all out of the casing; without dropping anything down the well. That can be a character buildin' experience. The top and bottom steel compresses a piece of about 3/4" to an inch of rubber between them as the bolts are tightened. That squeezes the inside of the casing and then the pipe/pipes coming up through the seal. Like a sandwich.