Reglaze Fiberglass tubs??

Users who are viewing this thread

beachgirl24

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time on these boards. My husband and I are preparing our house to sell. Our spare bathroom (used mostly by my 2 daughters) needs some help. It has one of those 1-piece fiberglass tubs/wall units. It obviously had shower doors at one time because there are holes and scratches left from the poor removal. There are also skidproof flowers stuck to the bottom. We really need to update the bathroom without spending a ton of money. The thought of ripping the whole thing out and putting in a new tub and tile just doesn't appeal to me too much. Is it possible to have the whole thing reglazed? My husband is very handy--more than most guys, but tile is really not his thing, so I would have to hire someone to do it. Your experienced opinions are appreciated.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
You could replace it with a three-piece job. People here seem to like those made by Sterling. I've not really done anything with them, so I can't say. Some of them are just cheap. Some are decent. You'd want to update the valve assembly to a pressure balanced version for current code requirements in the process - a good selling point, too. Tearing out the old one isn't too bad, basically, cut it up into manageable pieces. The edges are under the drywall, so you will need to patch that.

Leejosepho

DIY scratch-pad engineer
Reaction score
Website
www.nonameyet.org
beachgirl24 said:
... one of those 1-piece fiberglass tubs/wall units ... holes and scratches ... skidproof flowers stuck to the bottom ... Is it possible to have the whole thing reglazed?

Not actually "reglazed", as this is only a fiberglass gel-coat finish. But yes, the unit *could* be refinished for less than the cost of replacement.