Recommendation on water softener

Discussion in 'Water Softener Forum, Questions and Answers' started by Jeff Jones, Sep 10, 2018.

1. Jeff Jones

Jeff Jones New Member

I am completely new to the water softener world and looking for recommendations.

I live in the Kansas City area if anyone is familiar with the water here....
    I am on city water, no problem with any sediment in the water that I see, just hard water.
    My home is approximately 2300 sqft
    3 bathrooms, 1 with double sink, shower, and bath. 2 baths with single sink and shower/bath combination
    4 people - 2 adults and 2 children.

I have spoken with someone at U.S Water about the Fleck 5600sxt and the Aquatrol 56se (the latter recommended) with the 20GPM rating.

I am also looking for recommendations on the correct home filter to use. I was told a 4.5x20 5 micron filter.

I want to be sure i am purchasing the right unit and if there are more reliable units out there, i would like recommendations since this is my first unit. I read on another site about Clack being something highly recommended as well. Either way, all recommendations to help me make the right decision are very welcome.

Also, i hope to be able to set this up myself if possible vs having to call a plumber but will if necessary.

2. ditttohead

ditttohead Water systems designer, R&D

Water systems designer, R&D, Technical Director
    Avoid the house brand stuff, original Fleck or Clack only. The newer valves are much better but are not available for online sales.

3. Sponsor

Sponsor Paid Advertisement

4. dbmet

dbmet New Member

I had the same questions. All the tanks on the websites look the same. Which websites are better to order from.

5. ditttohead

Most of the online companies are "questionable" but I will send you a pm. I don't like calling out companies in an open forum.

6. Matt Peiris

Matt Peiris New Member