Recess lighting

Users who are viewing this thread

Barry J

Reaction score
I am installing recess lighting in my finished cellar room, I have suspended ceilings.
The gap between the bottom of the joist and the top of the ceiling tile is 2 1/2 inches, but the most my can light ajust to is 1 inch lower. So if I mount it to my joist ..it won't reach the top of the tile.
I know I can mount it on the ceiling frame, but is there a way I can do it on the joist??
It's my first time with recess lights, does the "baffle" assembly somehow cover that gap of 1 1/2 inches??? The instructions that come with it is minimal.
Thanks
Barry

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
Why don't you just scab on or cross-strap on a 2 inch piece of wood to the bottom of the joists to lower the cans? I would not trust mounting it to the suspended ceiling frame.

Barry J

Reaction score
Alright, seems like either add more wood, or mount onto the frame...frame appears to be pretty stable,
I've got 6 lights to put up and retrofitting all those lights with wood, seems like frame mount is way to go
any negatives with installing on frame???

JWelectric

Electrical Contractor/Instructor
Reaction score
Most every recess fixture I have installed in a lay-in ceiling was mounted to the ceiling grid.
Every recessed can I have ever seen has adjustments for the depth of the can.

What brand name can are you using?

Undfusk

Reaction score
I am installing recess lighting in my finished cellar room, I have suspended ceilings.
The gap between the bottom of the joist and the top of the ceiling tile is 2 1/2 inches, but the most my can light ajust to is 1 inch lower. So if I mount it to my joist ..it won't reach the top of the tile
visit this.
I know I can mount it on the ceiling frame, but is there a way I can do it on the joist??
It's my first time with recess lights, does the "baffle" assembly somehow cover that gap of 1 1/2 inches??? The instructions that come with it is minimal.
Thanks

Barry