Questions about pump type / usage

Users who are viewing this thread

SLED4FUN

Reaction score
Hello forum members. Please help me with a pump issue I have.

First home site information.

I live in a rural area and have a good well 28GPM.
Well depth 225ft. 1.5hp submersible pump
From top of well head it pumps up a hill (approx. 90ft rise) and then pumps across the property 300ft all through 2" water line to my new home.

The original plan was to have this well pump pump up the hill and into a 2500 water storage tank and then gravity feed into a good pressure pump to feed not only my home, but my good friend's home that will be building next to me.

The time table for him building has changed and we have no water storage tank in place. I have been using the well with a pressure tank for two years now. The pressure is marginal at best and I don't want to adjust the pressure any more in fear of wearing out my primary submersible pump.

Now for the questions: As a short term solution I bought a 1/2hp Wayne convertible well pump (without the jet kit) to install at the home with a large pressure tank to boost the water pressure. Without enough researching before purchasing I should have gotten a shallow well pump as it has the jet assembly as part of the pump. Being that this pump will be pressure fed from my submersible pump at a min. 20psi. with good volume.
Do I really need to buy the jet kit to install on this pump?
Can I just plumb my inlet to the center 1 1/4" inlet and plug the 1" lower one?
Can I tee both inlets together and run it?
Will there be a substantial pressure difference noticed with or without the jet kit?
I understand the theory of the jet usage to allow more water to the inlet, but my inlet will be pressure fed.

Lastly: Once my friend builds and we install the storage tank. What pump size and H.P. rating would you recommend we use to feed the two homes to provide adequate pressure? We both will have lawns, garden etc.

LLigetfa