Question on hose material for hydronic radiant heat

Users who are viewing this thread

FatLenny

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I'm in the process of buying a house, and I really like the radiant heat in the floor in one of the rooms that appears to be an addition. During the inspection today the inspector showed me the tubing used and it looks like some sort of rubber (almost looks like a radiator hose for a car). I am not sure how old the system is, but I'm pretty sure the tubes are embedded in the concrete slab in this particular room that has the radiant heat. Water damage always gives me intense paranoia and I have been having visions of having to jack-hammer through the tile and slab to replace all of the tubing. Does anybody know what this material is and/or whether or not I should be worried. I've tried to attach a file hopefully it works, although I've visited this forum many times, it is my first time posting. Thanks for any info/suggestions!
Lenny

Attachments

• heated-floor-tubing.JPG
    heated-floor-tubing.JPG
    80.5 KB · Views: 518

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
EPDM tubing for radiant heating systems has a VERY checkered history (including class action lawsuits, not always successful.)

While some vendors swear they have fixed the problem (Watts/Onix makes that claim), I'm personally a bit reluctant to use it. Vintage matters- stuff from the 1980s & '90s are highly suspect, but there are basic chemistry compatibility issues with other parts of the hydronic system that can go awry, with field reports of unidentified black goo blocking the heat exchangers on some condensing boilers.

FatLenny

Reaction score
Thank you for the response Dana! I have been doing a little more research and it turns out the system was installed 07/98. It has well-water (with a good filter setup) for the water. The company that installed it no longer exists (not a good omen haha!). I'm trying to dig up more records.

FatLenny

Reaction score
Hey everyone,