Question for a well pro

Users who are viewing this thread

Dave Fouts

Reaction score
Hi guys,

My name is Dave in Phoenix, Arizona. I've been reading through lots of posts and manufactures website looking for answers. There's way too much conflicting information out there. I was very happy when I found this website. Smart tradesmen with real experience in their trade = good advice.

I'm looking for help and guidance in a world I have little knowledge in and would greatly appreciate some of both on the subject. I will be helping my daughter and granddaughter build a new home on the outskirts of Phoenix. The first thing to be built will be a pump house to supply water during construction. It will eventually be tied to the home when if it's completed. My daughter was raised in our home with a well and understands water conservation.

The pump house will consist of:
A 2000 gal storage tank
1 or 2 pressure tank
Pump 220-volt ½ or ¾ H.P. - best I can get
A whole house filter bypassed during construction
And a solar hot water tank

The well will go in apx two years down the road when cash allows. That pump will be selected and installed by the well driller. Just an F.Y.I. wells around here are very low producers. Apx 2-5 GPM and 700-900 feet deep. If any of you could offer advice I would greatly appreciate it. I'm just an old guy who spent his whole life working in the sun and the heat trying to help his daughter and granddaughter. I can't seem to wrap my head around the math.

Here's the scoop:
2000 sq ft home
Two full-time occupants
3.5 baths
2 hose bibs
Washing machine and dishwasher
NO pool or water features
Just a few trees on low flow drip lines
Apx. 50 gal a week for everything, max