Question about toilet vent in regards to flow.

Users who are viewing this thread

JSA112233

Reaction score
Two questions really. First is prolly simple but since im new to plumbing really i would like to confirm. Does the vent for the toilet need to be in "front" of it or "behind" it. I ask this simple question because the toilet really cant pull air if the vent is in front of the toilet flow right? Or, does it even matter. I describe what im talking about in this picture. I also attach an illustration of my current setup to see if there would be an issues.

Image One: https://gyazo.com/3d12535f7b060f7211faef6de5de6219

Image Two: https://gyazo.com/ed10806099404bd704b10abcd5839165

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
Toilets are different than other things. The trap of a toilet is in the toilet. Unlike other traps, you want that to siphon out. Then there is a refill tube that refills the trap.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
In drawing #2, your Toilet #1 is technically NOT vented, because the flow from toilet #2 goes past its connection, and vent #1 is useless and has no function. In your first drawing it depends on WHAT is connected to the waste going past toilet #1.

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
That is almost a circuit vented system. But each fixture needs to tie into the horizontal run separately rather than as HJ describes and the picture 2 shows the waste running thru the toilet fitting.

UPC code allows circuit venting as illustrated here. The vents for the most upstream toilet are downstream of the toilet, but upstream of all other subsequent toilets to a point (which you won't achieve in a house)
https://www.kingcounty.gov/depts/he...ocuments/plumbing/horizontal-wet-venting.ashx

Reach4

Reaction score
Michigan uses IPC. UPC is more restrictive and conventional.