Question about plumbing design

Users who are viewing this thread

Victor Hastings

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm an armchair architect hoping to design & build a house in a few years. I have a question about water supply design.

I don't like waiting for hot water, & I've tried recirculating pumps without much success. I want to design my next house to minimize the wait.

One idea I've had is to plumb the house for cold water only (PEX pipe), & heat water at the points of use, using a small tempering tank followed by a tankless water heater.

That layout would be tough to retrofit on an existing house, but it would be easy to design from the ground up.

Would a system like this work?

Thanks.

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
Recirculating systems work great, if you've completely designed and piped a hotwater system that didn't work very well and don't see where you went wrong then you just need a little help . instant or near instant hot water is a luxury is not free but worth while in my opinion it almost seems cheap its so nice!

Victor Hastings

Reaction score
So how many tankless water heaters are you planning to have?

Hi Terry,

Given the house layout I have in mind, I figure three locations need hot water: master bath, powder room & kitchen.

The primary washer/dryer hookup will be in the master bedroom walk-in closet, using the master bath hot water supply. It wouldn't have instantaneous hot water, but that doesn't matter in a laundry room.

I would put a secondary w/d hookup in a closet by the kitchen, plumbed to the kitchen hot water supply. I probably wouldn't use that hookup, but a subsequent buyer might decide that they prefer to lug dirty clothes to the other side of the house, wash & dry them there, & lug them back to the MBR.

The powder room would need only enough hot water for hand washing, so a small (2.0 gpm) tankless heater without a tempering tank would probably suffice.

Victor Hastings

Reaction score