Question about Bathtub Faucet Supply Line

Users who are viewing this thread

Jerry C.

Reaction score
This is my first time posting on this forum. I have a question about the supply lines for a bathtub that my contractor is currently installing. I would appreciate hearing some of your thoughts on the following:

The supply lines from under the house are copper. The copper lines go from the crawl space under the house through the floor and into the area where the tub will be installed. The copper lines then connect to a shut off valve and the valve then connects to flexible stainless steel tubing that runs to the faucet. There is no access panel and the tub area will eventually be covered with tile. Once the tile is installed, there will be no way to access the plumbing.

Is installing a shutoff valve and flexible tubing allowed when the plumbing connections will be permanently enclosed in a wall? I am concerned that the valves and/or the flexible tubing will leak down the road and there will be no way to access it. Shouldn't the copper lines run all the way to the faucet?

Please let me know if anyone has any ideas. I may be overthinking this, but I don't have a great deal of confidence in the general contractor that is doing the plumbing himself.

Thanks!

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Most "flexible supply lines" have a tag stating that they are ONLY for "accessible locations". In addition, most are too small to supply the volume of water you would need. General contractors and plumbing contractors are TWO VERY DIFFERENT THINGS, and should not be mixed. Does he have a permit and is it being inspected?

Jerry C.

Reaction score