Pump for boost from water tank

Users who are viewing this thread

Hurricane Hill

Reaction score
I draw water from a tank that is fed by a few springs, and need to boost pressure to my home. I've seen plenty of submersible pump recommendations here, but the most I've found on other setups is to use a "jet pump".

What would a good pump be to use in conjunction with a CSV for my situation? Grundfos seems to be one of the preferred brands for submersible, so I've found the Grundfos JP series (jet pump) that seems to be used for shallow well and cistern/tank setups.

Any recommendations very much appreciated.

Note: I know very little about this topic. I'm doing my best to learn, though I am not a professional in this field, nor do I intend to become one. I have already tried engaging a professional, but haven't found anyone who already has any experience with anything except VSD/VFD booster systems.

Hurricane Hill

Reaction score
When looking at the Grundfos JP line, to match jp10 and jp15 I find the JP10S-SS (Stainless Steel), the JP10S-CI (Cast Iron), both with 115/230v and a pressure switch setting of 30-50psi. I also find the JP15S-CI (shallow well) and JP15D-CI (deep well) which are both cast iron 230v with PSI of 40-60. Are these the models you are referring to?

For now the JP15S-CI is out because I do not yet have 230 (working on it starting in the spring).

Otherwise, details are thin between the JP10S SS/CI models. Obviously one is Cast Iron, and one is Stainless Steel. There seems to be some price difference, but until I can get a quote from someone I don't trust what I see just poking around on the net. I'm guessing, based on the thin information I can find that the difference is only the material used, and that stainless steel will give me a longer pump life span. Do I have this right?

Are there other pumps or brands which are favored, or believed to be well suited, for this application?

Hurricane Hill

Reaction score