Professional Opinion on Running Panel to Detached Condo Garage?

Users who are viewing this thread

Nicholas J

Reaction score
fqo3nqwqyn471.jpg

3giuevlryn471.jpg

ogt14k4syn471.jpg

29hgkxosyn471.jpg

xjl1tlityn471.jpg

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
If they'll allow you to add the box with the two breakers in it, I'd go that way. I'm not a licensed electrician, though.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
This is work for a licensed electrician. If they are 100 amp breaker, it is the main for your panel inside your unit. Look at your breaker panel inside the home and you may not see a main breaker. You don't mess around with meter boxes since you'll probably cannot tap off this breaker. A local electrician will know the local codes. These breakers are exposed for fireman to switch the power off in event of a fire. Also, you just do not change a 100 amp breaker to 200 amp. The electric company would not allow it plus the the meter and panel may not be rated for 200 service. The drop wire to the meter may also not be able to handle the load.

Both breakers are for each of the two lines to give you 220-240v circuits such as for electric ranges, water heaters, dryers and air conditioning. My home has an outside meter box that has the mains with an integrated panel to add circuits. The breaker for the home is inside the garage about 40 ft away. It's very common in Florida where the exterior panel is used to add circuits for such things as irrigation pumps, pools and spas. All circuits are buried using conduit.