Pressure Tanks in series

Users who are viewing this thread

Cam Seelye

Reaction score
I have 2 - 86 Gallon pressure tanks to add volume to my system as my well pump is too small. The fix for the well pump is about $10,000, so I am opting for the additional pressure tanks first. Should I add the new tanks between my pump and current pressure tank or between my current pressure tank and the house? I am not sure which side of the pressure switch the tanks should be on.

My current pressure tank is only a 20 Gallon and there are 5 people using water in our home.

Thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
Keep them close with a big pipe between, and they should be fine either way. I am not a pro.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
I don't see how adding big tanks solves a problem with a pump that is too small. After the tanks are drawn down, they will present a much bigger load on the pump as it tries to keep up with the water use and try to fill those big tanks at the same time.

Reach4

Reaction score
After the tanks are drawn down, they will present a much bigger load on the pump as it tries to keep up with the water use and try to fill those big tanks at the same time.
Suppose, we have a 40/60 pressure switch. Suppose the pump puts out 4 gpm. Suppose the tank capacity is exhausted, and let's neglect the reserve between the air pressure precharge and the cut-on for this part:
  1. If the pressure tank is 20 gallons we get 4 gpm available for immediate continuous use.
  2. If the pressure tank is 172 gallons we get 4 gpm available for immediate continuous use.
Now suppose a different non-standard scenario. We have one 86 gallon tank (tank A) with a 36 psi precharge in parallel with a multi-dome construction tank (tank B) with a precharge of 28. Now when the pump goes on we could still draw some water down to 36 psi from tank A and B both. Below that, we could draw water down to 28 psi supplementing the 4 gpm from the pump.