Pressure tank drain valve

Users who are viewing this thread

Leo1

Reaction score
Hi All,

The guy, who replaced the well pump, said that the drain valve should be on the tee that connects to the pressure tank to be able to drain out sediments better. Is it correct? Would you recommend to add new valve?

I've attached the picture of the pressure tank connection that I currently have.

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20170627_224304.jpg
    20170627_224304.jpg
    85.8 KB · Views: 1,422

Reach4

Reaction score
Close enough, and better than many IMHO.

What I don't see is your pressure switch. If your pump shuts off too early during the fill, you can consider moving the pressure switch closer to the pressure tank. If no problem, no problem.

I am not a pro.

Leo1

Reaction score
Close enough, and better than many IMHO.

What I don't see is your pressure switch. If your pump shuts off too early during the fill, you can consider moving the pressure switch closer to the pressure tank. If no problem, no problem.

I am not a pro.
Here is the full picture. The switch works fine but I noticed that the pump shutoff has shifted a little bit (less than 0.5 PSI) but maybe it's just a gauge error.

Attachments

• 20170628_181516.jpg
    20170628_181516.jpg
    84.2 KB · Views: 1,015

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
That tee with the pressure switch, gauge, relief valve, and drain bibb, should have been put at the outlet of the tank. The wires should have been extended to the pressure switch at the base of the tank instead of extending the pipe up to the electric box.

Leo1

Reaction score
That tee with the pressure switch, gauge, relief valve, and drain bibb, should have been put at the outlet of the tank. The wires should have been extended to the pressure switch at the base of the tank instead of extending the pipe up to the electric box.